News, views and what I choose to dos

IGF advisory board members named

Category : Internet governance · by May 17th, 2006

The people on the advisory board for the Internance Governance Forum (IGF) have just been named. There are 46 of them in the end – far too many really but the governments insisted on having four per region, so it is much bigger than anyone wanted.

I’m glad to see Emily Taylor of Nominet on there. And Veni Markovski, also an ICANN director. Oh, and Robin Gross from IP Justice, that’s good to see. Michael Gallagher is also on it, so it seems the US is clearly taking the threat that the IGF is used to pull power away from the US administration very seriously.
Unsurprisingly the big Net diplomats are there: Masood Khan and Janis Karklins – both of them good men. ICANN’s Teresa Swinehart is also on it. And Peter Zangl.

A pretty high-powered bunch. Which is a shame really as it means that the IGF could become a political fight rather than fulfilling it potential as a non-political problem-solver for the wider Internet.

The full list is below. A press release can be found on the UN’s site here.

Agrawala, Pankaj
Delhi – Joint Secretary, Department of Information Technology, Ministry of Communications and Information Technology

Akinsanmi, Titilayo
Johannesburg – Programme Manager, SchoolNet Africa; Global Facilitator of the WSIS Youth Caucus

Akplogan, Adiel
Port Louis – Chief Executive Officer, Regional Internet Registry (RIR) for Africa – AfriNIC

Al-Shatti, Qusai
Kuwait City – Deputy Chairman of Kuwait Information Technology Society (KITS)

Bayramov, Ayaz
Baku – Head of Department for International Relations and Cooperation with NGOs, Ministry of Communications and Information Technologies

Bicalho, José
Brasilia – Member of the Brazilian Internet Steering Committee; Advisor to the Board of Directors of the National Telecommunications Agency (Anatel)

Clarke, Trevor
Geneva – Permanent Representative of Barbados to the United Nations Office at Geneva

Daftardar, Abdullah M.
Riyadh – Senior Executive, Communications and Information Technology Commission

Dardailler, Daniel
Nice – Associate Chair for Europe, World Wide Web Consortium (W3C); Member, Board of Directors, Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN)

D’Costa, Valerie
Singapore – International Director, Info-Communication Development Authority, Singapore

Diop Diagne, Ndeye Maimouna
Dakar – Directrice des NTIC, Ministère des Postes, Télécommunications et Nouvelles Technologies de l’Information et de la Communication (NTIC)

Disspain, Chris
Carlton – Victoria, Chair, Country Code Names Supporting Organization (ccNSO) Council; Chief Executive Officer, .au Registry

Echeberría, Raúl
Montevideo – Executive Director/Chief Executive Officer, Latin America and Caribbean Internet Addresses Registry (LACNIC)

El-Nawawy, Mohamed
Cairo – Chairman and Managing Director, TE Data

Fältström, Patrik
Stockholm – Consulting Engineer, Cisco Systems; Member, Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF); Member, Swedish Government Information Technology Policy and Strategy Group

Gallagher, Michael D.
Washington D.C. – Chairman of the Communications Group, Perkins Coie LLC

Graham, Bill
Ottawa – Director, International Telecommunication Policy and Coordination, Industry Canada

Gross, Robin D.
San Francisco, California – Executive Director, IP Justice

Hassan, Ayesha
Paris – Senior Policy Manager, e-Business, Information Technology, and Telecoms, Executive in charge of Information and Communication Technology Policy, International Chamber of Commerce (ICC)

Hellmonds, Peter
Munich – Vice President, Public and International Affairs, Siemens Ag

Hofmann, Jeanette
Berlin – Researcher, Social Science Research Center

Iriarte, Erick
Lima – Executive Director, Alfa-Redi

Kafi, Abdullah
Dacca – Managing Director, J A N Associates Limited; former President, Bangladesh Computer Society

K?rkli?š, J?nis
Geneva – Permanent Representative of Latvia to the United Nations Office at Geneva

Katoh, Masanobu
Tokyo – Corporate Vice President; President, Law and Intellectual Property Unit and Security Export Control Headquarters, Fujitsu Limited

Katundu, Michael
Nairobi – Principal Officer, Information Technology Communications Commission

Khan, Masood
Geneva – Permanent Representative of Pakistan to the United Nations Office at Geneva

Kovács, Kálmán
Budapest – Minister of Informatics and Communications

Lohento, Gemma Brice (Ken)
Dakar – Panos Institute West Africa, Coordinator, Center for International information and communication technology Policies for Central and West Africa (CIPACO)

Markovski, Veni
Sofia – Chair of the President’s Information Technology Advisory Committee; Member, Board of Directors, ICANN

Oliver, Colin
Canberra – General Manager, International Communications, Department of Communications, Information Technology and the Arts

Papadatos, George
Athens – Minister Plenipotentiary, Department of International Organizations, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Peake, Adam
Tokyo – Executive Research Fellow/Associate Professor, Center for Global Communications (GLOCOM), International University of Japan

Pisanty, Alejandro
Mexico City – Director of Computing Academic Services, Universidad Autónoma de México; Director ISOC Mexico; Vice Chair, Board of Directors, ICANN

Quaynor, Nii
Accra – Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Network Computer Systems; President, Internet Society of Ghana

Sha’ban, Charles
Amman – Executive Director, Regional Office, Abu-Ghazaleh Intellectual Property (AGIP)

Shears, Matthew
Copenhagen – Director of Public Policy, Internet Society (ISOC)

Sierra, Colombo
Buenos Aires – Chief of Cabinet, Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Singer, Christian
Vienna – Head of Division, Federal Ministry of Transportation

Slizen, Vitaliy
Moscow – Head of Department, Information and Communication Ministry

Swinehart, Theresa
Marina del Rey, California – Vice President, Global and Strategic Partnerships, ICANN

Taylor, Emily
Oxford – Nominet (.uk), Director of Legal and Policy

Wessberg, Arne
Helsinki – President, European Broadcasting Union (EBU); President, International Institute of Communication

Xiaokun, Yang
Geneva – First Secretary, Permanent Mission of China to the United Nations Office at Geneva

Zangl, Peter
Brussels – Deputy Director-General, Directorate General for Information Society and Media, European Commission


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *